Can I Log a Burrito as a Workout?

And Other Lunchtime Contemplations

DB Willows
4 min readNov 18, 2023
Image of a tasty burrito
Photo by logan jeffrey on Unsplash

You know that feeling right after a good workout? You’re breathing hard. Your chest is still pounding. You feel oh so hot. And every gulp of water is relief.

Well, that’s how I feel right now. But I wasn’t out pounding the pavement, and the only thing I lifted was a burrito.

Only a burrito.

It sounds so benign. Alas, here I am feeling like I just ran a marathon.

So, How Did I Get Here?

Well, my partner decided to order burritos from this place down the street for lunch. We’ve had them more times than I can count, so I asked him to get me my usual.

As he’s placing the order, he says, “Do you want it spicy?”

The burrito’s are already pretty spiced up. But I think sure, why not.

Does it matter if I already think they’re spicy enough? Ehh.

Then my partner adds, “The option says ‘Beware’.”

“Fuck it, I’ll try it,” I say. I’m pretty good with spice.

Image of a pile of fresh chili peppers
Photo by Ryan Quintal on Unsplash

--

--

DB Willows

Proud dog mom and accumulator of random knowledge. Writer and Engineer. I find the world around me forever curious.