Viewing a Webpage Through Tunnel Vision

Believe me, it’s hard. Here’s why.

DB Willows
4 min readNov 10, 2023
Photo by Manikandan Annamalai on Unsplash

Howdy.

In recent years, the field of web accessibility has been growing, and as a visually impaired person, I’m loving it.

If you know me or have read some of my other posts you may know that I’m gradually going blind. My vision is deteriorating from the outside in. Simply put, I have tunnel vision.

I also happen to have a professional background in frontend web development, so unsurprisingly, I have a particular interest in web accessibility.

For this post, I decided I should share with anyone who is interested some thoughts and visuals of how I see stuff on my computer.

What My Eyes See

I should start by saying that I use a combination of accessibility computer settings and accessibility software. I’ll dive into that a bit later, but for now, I’ll give you a taste of what I see with bare eyes.

Let’s take a look at Wikipedia’s Dog page as an example:

An full page screenshot of the top of a Wikipedia page. So as not to be redundent, a written description follows the image.
Image shows an full page screenshot of the top of a Wikipedia page. The page is titled Dog. The page is white with black font. Links are in blue. There are a few pictures of dogs on the right side of the page.

Because it’s a screenshot, the font probably looks tiny even to those of you with perfect…

--

--

DB Willows

Proud dog mom and accumulator of random knowledge. Writer and Engineer. I find the world around me forever curious.